Counseling provided to a minority shareholder in a dispute with the CEO/majority shareholder of a joint stock company.

The dispute resolution team of the Firm’s Corporate Law department counselled a minority shareholder throughout the various stages of a dispute which arose between the latter and the CEO/majority shareholder of the company who sought to oust him.

This procedure required application of the following measures:

  • threatened court action on the grounds of abuse of a majority shareholder position following the minority shareholder’s refusal of an “accordion effect” arrangement (increase of capital followed by a reduction of capital to settle losses). This arrangement had been planned by the majority shareholder with a view to diluting our client’s share value;
  • filing of an action for unfair competition to counter attempts to embezzle share capital to the benefit of another structure formed by the CEO/majority shareholder and close acquaintances ;
  • counseling and guidance during the company rescue scheme and liquidation (declaration and admission of the debt corresponding to his shareholder account, opposition to the sale of assets which were clearly insufficient in amount…) ;
  • filing of an action against the former CEO to have the latter sentenced to cover the clearly insufficient amount of assets  via the Liquidator, and seek remedy for the injury sustained by our client (1M€ uncompensated by the dividends paid during  liquidation of the overall debt of 1,5M€ declared and entered in liabilities);
  • negotiation of a mutual compromise with the CEO for an aggregate amount of 500.000€ in full settlement of the dispute.

In conclusion, the Firm’s involvement enabled the minority shareholder to quite simply avoid being ousted from the company and via court actions brought against the CEO, obtain compensation equal to two 3rds of the amount claimed, despite the liquidation of the company.

Retour

Conflits entre associés

Accompagnement d’un associé minoritaire dans le conflit l’opposant au Dirigeant majoritaire d’une société anonyme.

L’équipe contentieux Droit des sociétés du Cabinet a accompagné un associé minoritaire dans les différentes phases de la procédure l’opposant au Dirigeant majoritaire de la structure qui souhaitait l’évincer.

Cette procédure a notamment consisté à mettre en œuvre les mesures suivantes :

  • menace d’une action en abus de majorité pour s’opposer au projet de “coup d’accordéon” (augmentation puis réduction du capital pour apurement des pertes) envisagée par le majoritaire pour diluer notre client ;
  • engagement d’une procédure en concurrence déloyale pour contrer la tentative de détournement de l’actif social au profit d’une autre structure constituée par le Dirigeant majoritaire et ses proches ;
  • accompagnement de notre client dans le cadre de la procédure de redressement puis de liquidation judiciaires de la société (déclaration et admission de la créance correspondant à son compte courant d’associé, opposition à un plan de cession d’actif manifestement insuffisant…) ;
  • engagement d’une action en comblement de l’insuffisance d’actif contre l’ancien Dirigeant, par l’intermédiaire du Liquidateur Judiciaire, pour obtenir l’indemnisation du préjudice subi par notre client (1M€ non indemnisés par les dividendes versées par la liquidation sur la créance totale de 1,5M€ déclarée et admise au passif) ;
  • négociation d’un protocole transactionnel avec le Dirigeant sur une somme globale de 500.000 € pour mettre un terme au litige.

En définitive, l’intervention du Cabinet a permis à l’actionnaire minoritaire d’éviter d’être purement et simplement évincé de la société et, grâce à l’action continue contre le Dirigeant majoritaire, d’obtenir l’indemnisation des 2/3 de la créance du client malgré la mise en liquidation judiciaire de la structure.